"Google to Delete Inactive Accounts After 2 Years of Inactivity"

1 min read
Source: CNET
"Google to Delete Inactive Accounts After 2 Years of Inactivity"
Photo: CNET
TL;DR Summary

Google has announced that it may delete inactive accounts, including Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar, YouTube, and Google Photos, that have not been used or signed into within the past two years. The policy will start in December 2023 and is aimed at improving data security, as inactive accounts are more likely to be compromised. To preserve your Google accounts, you need to sign in at least once every two years, and any activity such as reading or sending an email, using Google Drive, or watching a YouTube video will keep your account active. Google will send multiple notifications before an account is deleted, but it's better to act now than risk losing anything you'd like to keep.

Share this article

Reading Insights

Total Reads

0

Unique Readers

12

Time Saved

2 min

vs 3 min read

Condensed

77%

520118 words

Want the full story? Read the original article

Read on CNET