Google's account purge: What you need to know.

TL;DR Summary
Google will not delete accounts with YouTube videos in its upcoming account purge, which aims to delete inactive accounts that have been unused for two years. The company cited security concerns as the main reason for the purge, but critics raised concerns about the potential loss of important internet history. Google will send warning emails to accounts in danger of being deleted and will deactivate them within 60 days if their owners don't log in after receiving the warning email. Users will have a total of four months to recover their accounts before they're permanently deleted.
- Google's account purge will spare YouTube channels with videos Engadget
- Here are details on Google's plan to start deleting inactive accounts KTLA 5
- How to stop your Google account from being deleted The Washington Post
- Your digital life isn’t as permanent as you think it is MIT Technology Review
- Log Into Your Old Google Accounts Before They're Deleted Lifehacker
Reading Insights
Total Reads
0
Unique Readers
10
Time Saved
1 min
vs 2 min read
Condensed
64%
268 → 96 words
Want the full story? Read the original article
Read on Engadget