
Google's account purge: What you need to know.
Google will not delete accounts with YouTube videos in its upcoming account purge, which aims to delete inactive accounts that have been unused for two years. The company cited security concerns as the main reason for the purge, but critics raised concerns about the potential loss of important internet history. Google will send warning emails to accounts in danger of being deleted and will deactivate them within 60 days if their owners don't log in after receiving the warning email. Users will have a total of four months to recover their accounts before they're permanently deleted.