Google's Inactive Account Purge: How to Save Your Data.

1 min read
Source: WIRED
Google's Inactive Account Purge: How to Save Your Data.
Photo: WIRED
TL;DR

Google plans to delete accounts that have been inactive for two years or more, starting from December 2020. This change affects Google Calendar, Drive, Docs, Gmail, Meet, and Photos, but not YouTube accounts with videos or accounts with active subscriptions. To prevent account deletion, users need to log in to their accounts. Google will send messages to the account's main email and recovery address before deleting it. Users can use Google Takeout to download data for safekeeping or set up the Inactive Account Manager to provide access.

Share this article

Want the full story? Read the original reporting

Read on WIRED